Garden Log – July 19, 2012

dwarf apple trees

Dwarf apple trees coming along, they really are quite decorative and a joy to look at.  Have had some small rusty spots, treated with a light spray of baking soda and water, but discovered some bugs eating away (blasted them off , of course), so it may be their damage, and nothing disease related. Keeping close eye.

First baby green peppers

The first baby green peppers seem to be taking awhile to get bigger.  I’ve observed that plants in pots tend to grow to the limitations of their pot size. This plant is also growing indoors by window light, with periodic one or two hour outings. I have another one growing outdoors, which seems to be being eaten alive in large chunks, though I can not spot any bugs at all. perhaps I should check at night.

New addition lemon geranium!

I’m all excited about this new addition, a lemon geranium.  It wasn’t on my list, but was introduced to me by the nursery.  I was totally floored by the smell, and just couldn’t put it down.  I kept sniffing it all the way home! I would like to try to grow some from seed, but it seems there may be some clippings pretty soon from this one.

Bay Laurel addition.

The bay laurel seeds did not work out, so I was pinned into purchasing a  plant for another new addition.  Most of the seeds were infested with worms or had gone to mush.  I learned too late that a method to germinate involved putting them in the fridge.  I also find  germination this way seems easier for quite a few seeds due to all sorts of fungus and micro feeders in the soil that are inhibited at lower temperatures.  I still haven’t made up my mind how I would like to prune it yet. Not only does it look beautiful and smell great, but you can put it in stews and soups too!

Light and airy wormwood basking in some sun.

Because of it’s name, and because of the preconception that all medicinal plants must be drab or boring somehow, I really kick myself for not having been introduced or exposed to this sweet wormwood plant sooner. I think everyone should have one, and they should be as common in the garden as parsley. I look forward to passing my hand through the light feathery leaves, and taking in it’s particular aroma. What a wondrous creation! They tolerate shade better than I thought, grow fast and are quite adaptable, and have so many applications.

First tomato flowers.

First tomato flowers. Experimenting with different mulches to keep moisture in and heat out, after many hot days. Here I am using cracked shells of coconuts.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

