Review – Hawthorn Farm

I received my seed packets from Hawthorn Farm in very timely fashion.  Included, were some plug packs due to having ordered a bit late in the season, and a surprise addition, a tomato variety called Druzba. As I have never received “live plants” or plugs before in the mail, I was very curious about how they were shipped, and here it is.

Image

I found Hawthorn Farm doing an online search for seeds, and they were one of the first to come up for my area.  Here is their link:

http://www.hawthornfarm.ca/

Ever wonder what a certified organic seal looks like? Well, here is one:

Certified organic seal.

Certified organic seal.

These symbols are supposed to mean that seeds are truly organic and not genetically modified.

Aside from the review,  I just wanted to say a bit about organic certification. I can not understand why GMO foods are not required to have certification to identify that a seed is GMO.  You would think the public has a right to know that a seed has been genetically modified more than they would a natural heritage seed which has withstood the test of time.  When I shop seeds and pick up a packet that has no GMO certification or Heritage either, to identify its origins, it is coming from a source “unknown” and I simply do not buy it.  I do not know if its blossoms will carry GMO pollen, or other unknown adversaries missed by tests that may inadvertently contaminate my pure varieties. No GMO certification means “unknown origin”, which in turn means I am shopping stupid, and personally that’s not a label I wish to carry.

So.., back to Hawthorn.

Here is what absolutely sold me on shopping from them:  a clear picture of the almost “mystical” process of pollination from their website.

pollinating squash

Hawthorn Farm- pollinating squash. Copyright Hawthorn Farm.

For the website experience, I found it easy to navigate, no more than one or two clicks to the next seed. The photos were actual photos, often including what the inside of a cut vegetable looked like.  When you wanted more detail of how a plant looked, you clicked on the small picture and got a large near life size, full quality resolution photo, to help you decide if that’s what you wanted.  I enjoyed seeing photos of the whole process of the vegetables from seed sprouts, to drying, and preserving, from harvest to table. Yes, it’s a real place! These were the types of experiences in life I wanted; growing was only part of the experience. Preparing and preserving for the table were the other. They also carried some particular varieties I was interested in.

The most notable, about my experience with Hawthorne Farm is the information on the packets themselves, which for the small space available are quite loaded with UN-generic, custom tips. The practical information for each plant spoke of their actual growing experience with the plant. A far cry from any info I could find on the internet. When dealing with larger companies, information on the seed packs is often too brief to be of any use. It’s funny (but not!) that the bigger a company gets, the less product you get.  Contrarily, Hawthorne was a real and rewarding experience.  I look forward to exploring some of their other varieties. I will post my progress with the seeds, and hopefully let you know how biting into a fully grown fresh Druzba tomato is like.

tomato_druzba

Tomato_Druzba. Copyright Hawthorn Farm

Hawthorn seed packs.

Hawthorn Farm seed packs experience.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

